banner.JPG (1211253 bytes)

Caboolture Gliding Club

|Return to Home Page|

 2016 John Sharman Award



The announcement of Arthur Mailey as this year’s John Sharman "Quiet Achiever" Award recipient was greeted  with enthusiasm and the unanimous support of all members present at Geebung RSL for the AGM today.


Arthur (on left) receives the Award from Garrett Russell (CGC Vice-President).  

The Committee had needed very little time this year to unanimously select Arthur for the Award in recognition of the years of selfless time and effort he had put into the planning and erection of our new hangar.  
Arthur was very humble in accepting the Award, and made it very clear that he had received the support and assistance of many CGC members in seeing the Hangar Project through from an idea to a reality.
Well done Arthur!
As an aside, it was somewhat ironic to see that last year's recipient Bert Persson had completed some maintenance on the trophy Blanik while the Award had been in his custody over the last 12 months!  



The John Sharman Quite Achiever Award was introduced by the Committee in 2011 to recognise individual members who contribute significantly to the running of the Club without seeking recognition or praise. 




"the original quiet achiever"


 John Richard Sharman

"the original quiet achiever"

 15-Nov-34 to 24-May-09

click here
> Sharman Award Recipients (CGC's quiet achievers)


like us on facebook

likes, comments and/or posts please ... 

just click on the facebook logo above!